CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Twelve Inch Singles (1981-1984) - Ministry

Twelve Inch Singles (1981-1984)


Format: 2 CD

Genre: electronic, Synth-pop, Industrial

Barcode: 0741157193121






Ministry is the brainchild of Al Jourgensen. Beginning in 1981 playing synth pop with a strong disco influence, they released their first 12" on Wax Trax! Records, before being signed to Arista and releasing their debut "With Sympathy" in 1983. After a falling out with the label and the direction of the project, Jourgensen returned to Wax Trax! Records to release a series of 12" Singles, including "All Day / Everyday (Is Halloween)" which became an instant club favorite and would go on to become one of the band's most popular songs.

Jourgensen then signed to Sire/Warner Bros. Records in 1985. Ministry's second album "Twitch" was produced by Adrian Sherwood and had a more menacing sound reflecting Jourgensen's interest in the international EBM (electronic body music) scene of the time. Ministry's third album, "The Land Of Rape And Honey" (1988,) was both a natural evolution of their aesthetic and a sharp break with previous pop tendencies and, with the arrival of Paul Barker and other new members, Ministry's sound developed into a crossover between EBM, industrial, and heavy metal. Their experimentation with heavy metal was then continued with the following "The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste" (1990), where the guitar began to take on much more importance to their sound. Ministry's breakthrough album, "ΚΕΦΑΛΗΞΘ" (1992), was a very dark, powerful, and violent album, that saw the band moving further into thrash metal while still retaining elements of industrial music and noise. The following records "Filth Pig" (1996) and "Dark Side Of The Spoon" (1999) showcased a much more straightforward heavy metal sound, to lower sales than previous records. The band released their first best of collection entitled "Greatest Fits" (2001) and were then dropped by Warner Bros. Records.

In 2003, the band then moved to Sanctuary Records and released "Animositisomina". Paul Barker left the band in January 2004, leaving Jourgensen to put together a new line-up for "Houses Of The Molé". After the 2004 Evil Doer Tour, there was yet another change in personnel with Prong founder Tommy Victor on guitar and Paul Raven (who had also played in Prong and in Killing Joke) on bass. In may, 2006, Ministry released "Rio Grande Blood" which was quickly followed by what was announced as their final album, "The Last Sucker", in 2007, and a collection of covers entitled "Cover Up" in 2008.

Despite Jourgensen's claim that the band was over, 2010 saw another collection, mixing covers and remixes, entitled "Undercover". Following a serious illness, Al Jourgensen decided to restart the band with Mike Scaccia and two new Ministry albums followed, "Relapse" in 2012 and "From Beer To Eternity" 2013. Scaccia's death in 2012 had apparently brought a final, definite end to the band with the 2013 album until early 2017 when Jourgensen began working on a new album, tentatively titled "AmeriKKKant."


1-1  Everyday Is Halloween  06:36

1-2  Nature Of Love  07:04

1-3  All Day  05:51

1-4  Cold Life  05:11

1-5  Halloween (Remix)  10:25

1-6  Nature Of Love (Cruelty Mix)  06:43

1-7  All Day (Remix B)  06:34

1-8  Cold Life Dub  06:22

2-1  Same Old Madness  05:58

2-2  Primental  05:14

2-3  I'm Falling  04:24

2-4  Nature Of Outtakes  08:09

2-5  I'm Falling (Alternative Mix)  04:04

2-6  Overkill  04:31

2-7  He's Angry  03:54

2-8  Move (Original Mix)  05:06

2-9  Nature Of Love (Cruelty Mix B)  06:43



CD, Cassette, Vinyl


Flint Records, Wax Trax! Records, Cleopatra, TVT Records


Russian Federation, United States of America


1987, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1994, 2014


Paul Raven,Chris Connelly,William Tucker,Louis Svitek,Al Jourgensen,Paul Barker,Michael Balch,William Rieflin,Stephen George,Tommy Victor,Paul D'Amour,Roy Mayorga,Mike Scaccia,Rey Washam,Duane Buford,Max Brody,John Bechdel,Monte Pittman,Casey Orr,John Monte,John Davis (7),Martin Sorenson,Robert Roberts,Mark Baker,Tony Campos,London May,Zlatko Hukic,Terry Roberts (2),Cesar Soto,Sin Quirin,Aaron Rossi (2),Jason Christopher,Derek Abrams

Related products

Relapse - Ministry
Adios... Puta Madres - Ministry
Last Tangle In Paris Live 2012 - Ministry
The Last Sucker - Ministry
Original Album Series - Ministry
The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste - Ministry
With Sympathy - Ministry


Pull The Thorns From Your Heart - Senses Fail
Hayman, Watkins, Trout & Lee - Hayman, Watkins, Trout & Lee
I Wonder Where He Is Now - Gary Chilton
Coup De Foudre - Jacques Higelin
Greatest Hits  - Mario Lanza
Kiss Me Once - Kylie Minogue
The New Classic - Iggy Azalea
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay