CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Vietnam Blues (The Complete L + R Recordings) - J.B. Lenoir

Vietnam Blues (The Complete L + R Recordings)

J.B. Lenoir  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: blues

Barcode: 0730182606829




American blues guitarist and singer-songwriter, active on the Chicago blues scene of the 1950s and 1960s. Born 5 March 1929 in Monticello, Mississippi; died 29 April 1967 in Champaign, Illinois, of internal bleeding (and/or a heart attack) from injuries he had suffered in a car crash three weeks earlier, which had not been properly treated.
As a young boy, J.B.'s father taught him to play guitar in the style of Blind Lemon Jefferson; he was also taught by Arthur Crudup and Lightnin’ Hopkins. In the 1940s, he started playing in New Orleans with Sonny Boy Williamson and Elmore James. In 1949 he moved to Chicago; he began playing with names like Memphis Minnie, Big Maceo Merriweather and Muddy Waters.
J.B.'s first recording session was in late 1950 for Chess. He recorded for J.O.B and Parrot 1951-1953, before he returned to Chess. His most commercially successful and enduring release was 1954's “Mamma Talk To Your Daughter”, which reached #11 on the Billboard R&B chart and was later recorded by many other blues and rock musicians.
He was immortalised in John Mayall's songs “The Death of J.B. Lenoir” and "I’m Gonna Fight For You JB”. He also features in the 2003 documentary film “The Soul of a Man”, directed by Wim Wenders, part of Martin Scorsese’s The Blues series.


1  Alabama   03:12

2  Mojo Boogie   02:16

3  God's Word   03:39

4  The Whale Has Swallowed Me   02:24

5  Move This Rope   03:33

6  I Feel So Good   01:53

7  Alabama March   02:52

8  Talk To Your Daughter   02:43

9  Mississippi Road   02:58

10  Good Advice   02:43

11  Vietnam  02:39

12  I Want To Go   01:40

13  Down In Mississippi   03:15

14  Slow Down Woman  01:33

15  If I Get Lucky   02:59

16  Shot On James Meredith   02:46

17  Round And Round   02:51

18  Voodoo Music   02:25

19  Born Dead   03:45

20  Leavin' Here   01:36

21  Vietnam Blues   03:03

22  How Much More   02:32

23  Tax Payin' Blues   02:20

24  Feelin' Good   03:00





Not On Label, Evidence


Russian Federation, United States of America




Related products

Alabama Blues - J.B. Lenoir
The Parrot Anthology - J.B. Lenoir

2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay