CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Live From the 40 Watt - The Squalls

Live From the 40 Watt

The Squalls  

Format: 2 Vinyl

Genre: pop, rock

Barcode: 0607396004133


48.59€ Shipping: 1-3 days



From Squalls webpage:
From 1981 - 1989 the Squalls rocked Athens and made several tours of the South, the Midwest, and East coast cities including several shows at New York city clubs CBGB, Danceteria, and Peppermint Lounge. They released 4 recordings and were included in the 1986 movie "Athens Georgia Inside Out"
From All Music Guide:
One of the lesser-known guitar pop bands to emerge from the fertile Athens, GA, music scene of the 1980s, the Squalls formed in 1981 following singer/guitarist Bob Hay and guitarist Ken Starratt's relocation from Maine. Regular jam sessions eventually yielded a lineup that additionally included bassist Al Walsh and drummer Mig Little, and on Halloween the Squalls made their public debut at the local restaurant the Bluebird, quickly followed by an appearance at the now-legendary 40 Watt Club. In 1982 Mark Cooper Smith replaced Little on drums, and a few months later the Squalls added vocalist Diana Torell; in 1984, the group issued its self-titled debut EP on the Mbrella label, followed a year later by a single, "Crickets." Walsh left the lineup in 1986, and was replaced by bassist Juan Molina. Saxophonist Paul Hammond also signed on in time for their first full-length record, Rebel Shoes. Also in 1986 the Squalls made a featured appearance in the documentary Athens, Ga. Inside/Out, adding two songs to its acclaimed soundtrack LP. While the film helped propel several other local acts to major-label deals, the Squalls remained with tiny indie Doggone for 1988's No Time, which proved their swan song. The group split the following year, with Hay, Starratt, and Torell later reuniting in the folk revival combo Bob Hay & the Jolly Beggars.


A1  Bride of Frankenstein   03:04

A2  Catholic Girls  03:07

A3  The Prince of Wails  02:34

A4  Ellie Dee  03:28

A5  Relax  03:12

A6  Cindy  02:38

B1  Na Nanana  02:59

B2  Pop Roots  02:30

B3  Waltzing.Mathilda  02:40

B4  Information  02:47

B5  Crickets   02:52

B6  Snowman  02:38

C1  Dancing Example  02:14

C2  Satellite   03:24

C3  Tell Me Now  02:33

C4  Unrelated Happenings   02:01

C5  Kathy  02:36

C6  The Sheik   03:35

D1  Kalinka  02:22

D2  S.P.Q.R.  03:12

D3  Strolling Bones  02:23

D4  Modern World  03:30

D5  What You Get  02:54

D6  Elephant Radio   04:24



CD, Vinyl


Squalls, Strolling Bones Records


United States of America


2017, 2022


Bob Hay,Mark Cooper Smith,Ken Starratt,Diana Torell,Alan Walsh

Related products

Squalls - The Squalls
Squalls - The Squalls

Selection JAZZ

2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay