CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Manhattan Research Inc. - Raymond Scott

Manhattan Research Inc.

Raymond Scott  

Format: 3 Vinyl

Genre: electronic, Non-Music, Experimental, Electroacoustic, Public Broadcast

Barcode: 8719262017870


37.59€ Shipping: Today



Born: 09/10/1908 in Brooklyn, NY.
Died: 02/08/1994 in North Hills, CA.

Composer, bandleader and inventor Raymond Scott was among the unheralded pioneers of contemporary experimental music.

Of all of Scott's accomplishments of 1949, however, none was more important than the Electronium, one of the first synthesizers ever created. An "instantaneous composing machine," the Electronium generated original music via random sequences of tones, rhythms, and timbres; Scott himself denied it was a prototype synthesizer — it had no keyboard — but as one of the first machines to create music by means of artificial intelligence, its importance in pointing the way towards the electonic compositions of the future is undeniable. His other inventions included the "Karloff," an early sampler capable of recreating sounds ranging from sizzling steaks to jungle drums; the Clavinox, a keyboard Theremin complete with an electronic sub-assembly designed by a then 23-year-old Robert Moog; and the Videola, which fused together a keyboard and a TV screen to aid in composing music for films and other moving images.

By the middle of the 1960s, Scott began turning increasingly away from recording and performing to focus on writing and inventing; a 1969 musical celebrating the centennial of Kentucky Bourbon was his last orchestral work, with his remaining years spent solely on electronic composition. Among his latter-day innovations was an early programmable polyphonic sequencer, which along with the Electronium later caught the attention of Motown chief Berry Gordy Jr., who in 1971 tapped Scott to head the label's electronic music research and development team. After retiring six years later, he continued writing — his last known piece, 1986's "Beautiful Little Butterfly," was created on MIDI technology.


A01  Manhattan Research, Inc. Copyright  00:11

A02  Baltimore Gas & Electric Co.  01:14

A03  Bendix: "The Tomorrow People"  01:06

A04  Lightworks  01:52

A05  The Bass-Line Generator  03:10

A06  "Don't Beat Your Wife Every Night!"  01:44

A07  "B.C. 1675"  03:16

A08  Vim  00:59

A09  Auto-Lite: Sta-Ful (Instrumental)  00:47

A10  Sprite "Melonball Bounce" (Instrumental)  01:01

A11  Sprite "Melonball Bounce"  00:59

A12  "Wheels That Go"  00:50

A13  "Limbo: The Organized Mind"  04:33

B01  "Portofino" #1  02:13

B02  County Fair  01:01

B03  Lady Gaylord  01:02

B04  Good Air  00:38

B05  IBM MT/ST: "The Paperwork Explosion"  04:31

B06  Domino  00:33

B07  Super Cheer  00:34

B08  Cheer: Revision 3  00:39

B09  "Twilight In Turkey"  01:32

B10  Vicks: Medicated Cough Drops  01:34

B11  Vicks: Formula 44  00:46

B12  Auto-Lite: Spark Plugs  01:00

B13  Nescafé  01:06

B14  Awake  00:35

C01  Backwards Overload  06:04

C02  Bufferin: "Memories" (Original)  00:59

C03  Bandito The Bongo Artist  01:30

C04  "Night And Day"  01:45

C05  Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. ("395")  01:07

C06  K2r  00:19

C07  IBM Probe  01:56

C08  GMGM 1A  01:49

C09  The Rhythm Modulator  03:37

C10  Ohio Plus  00:17

C11  "In The Hall Of The Mountain Queen"  00:49

C12  General Motors: Futurama  01:04

D01  "Portofino" #2  02:14

D02  The Wild Piece (a.k.a. "String Piece")  04:07

D03  "Take Me To Your Violin Teacher"  01:40

D04  "Ripples" (Original Soundtrack)  00:59

D05  Cyclic Bit  01:04

D06  "Ripples" (Montage)  04:06

D07  The Wing Thing  01:00

D08  County Fair (Instrumental)  01:00

D09  "Cindy Electronium"  01:59

E01  "Don't Beat Your Wife Every Night!" (Instrumental)  01:45

E02  Hostess: Twinkies  00:32

E03  Hostess: Twinkies (Instrumental)  00:32

E04  Ohio Bell: Thermo Fax  00:24

E05  "The Pygmy Taxi Corporation"  07:11

E06  Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. (Announce Copy, Take 1)  00:29

E07  Baltimore Gas & Electric Co.  00:44

E08  Lightworks (Slow)  01:40

E09  IBM MT/ST: "The Paperwork Explosion" (Instrumental)  03:39

E10  Auto-Lite: "Ford Family"  01:03

E11  Auto-Lite: "Ford Family" (Instrumental)  00:54

E12  Auto-Lite: "Wheels"  01:50

F01  Bufferin: "Memories" (Demo)  00:44

F02  "Space Mystery" (Montage)  05:11

F03  "The Toy Trumpet"  02:15

F04  "Backward Beeps"  01:05

F05  Auto-Lite: Sta-Ful  01:36

F06  Lightworks (Instrumental)  01:29

F07  "When Will It End?"  03:14

F08  Bendix 2: "The Tomorrow People"  01:03

F09  Electronic Audio Logos, Inc.  05:23



CD, Vinyl


Music On Vinyl, Basta


Netherlands, Europe


2000, 2001, 2017, 2021


Related products

The Jingle Workshop [Midcentury Musical Miniatures 1951-1965] - Raymond Scott
Soothing Sounds For Baby - Raymond Scott

IN UTERO - Nirvana
NEVERMIND puzzle - Nirvana
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay