CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Magica - Dio



Format: 1 CD, 1 CD, 1 All Media

Genre: heavy metal, rock

Barcode: 4050538488753

remastered 2000 album W/RARE bonustracks

20.62€ Shipping: 3-6 days



remastered 2000 album W/RARE bonustracks


Dio was a heavy metal band formed by singer Ronnie James Dio and drummer Vinny Appice in 1982 following their depature from Black Sabbath. Although Ronnie claimed that his intention was to form a band and not a solo project, he remained the only continuous member and the prime creative force in the band throughout its lifespan.

The original line-up was rounded out by bassist Jimmy Bain and guitarist Vivian Campbell for the band's debut, 1983's "Holy Diver". The album remains the group's most well-known and commercially successful release. The band added keyboardist Claude Schnell afterwards and this line-up appeared on the band's next two LPs, "Last In Line" (1984) and "Sacred Heart" (1985), both of which were commercial successes. Vivian Campbell left the band in 1986 and was replaced by Craig Goldy for 1987's "Dream Evil". However, by the time Dio released their next album, 1990's "Lock Up The Wolves", the group's popularity was waning and the band had undergone a complete overhaul, with only Ronnie remaining from the original line-up.

By the start of the 1990s, both Dio and Ronnie's former band, Black Sabbath, saw that their separate commercial fortunes were waning. In an attempt to rekindle their old magic, Ronnie put Dio to rest and joined forces with Vinny Appice, Geezer Butler, and Tony Iommi for the 1992 Black Sabbath record, "Dehumanizer". The release met with a largely positive reception from most fans but old personal issues were still unresolved and Ronnie and Vinny departed Black Sabbath again in 1993 and launched a new version of Dio. The new band included guitarist Tracy G, bassist Jeff Pilson, and keyboardist Scott Warren. This line-up recorded 1994's "Strange Highways" (Dio's last album for a major label) and 1996's "Angry Machines". These albums saw the band turn away from the "sword & sorcery" lyrics and traditional heavy metal sound of the old days and move towards more modern sounds and lyrical issues. Many fans were not receptive towards these changes.

2000's "Magica" not only saw Dio return to the "classic" sound of the band, but also saw the return of Jimmy Bain, Craig Goldy, and drummer Simon Wright (4) (the latter of whom had played on "Lock Up The Wolves"). The follow-up to "Magica", 2002's "Killing The Dragon" saw Goldy replaced by Doug Aldrich. In 2004, Goldy would return to replace Aldrich and Jimmy Bain quit the band again. Jeff Pilson would return for bass duties on 2004's "Master Of The Moon", although other obligations prevented him from touring so Rudy Sarzo joined as the band's live bass player. Doug Aldrich replaced Goldy again in 2005 and appeared on two live releases, "Evil Or Divine - Live In New York City" and "Holy Diver - Live", before Goldy would once again rejoin the band in 2006.

In 2007, the Dio band went on hiatus again as Ronnie re-teamed with Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, and Vinny Appice to form Heaven & Hell (2). Although, Ronnie stated that the Dio band would continue, with plans for making "Magica II" and "Magica III", this would not come to pass, as in late 2009, the singer was diagnosed with stomach cancer. He passed away in May 2010.


1-1  Discovery  00:53

1-2  Magica Theme  01:16

1-3  Lord Of The Last Day  04:04

1-4  Fever Dreams  04:38

1-5  Turn To Stone  04:57

1-6  Feed My Head  06:02

1-7  Eriel  07:21

1-8  Challis  04:25

1-9  As Long As It's Not About Love  06:04

1-10  Losing My Insanity  05:05

1-11  Otherworld  04:57

1-12  Magica - Reprise  01:53

1-13  Lord Of The Last Day - Reprise  01:41

2-1  Discovery  01:14

2-2  Magica  01:20

2-3  Lord Of The Last Day  03:53

2-4  Fever Dreams  04:07

2-5  Feed My Head  05:23

2-6  Eriel  07:21

2-7  Challis  04:11

2-8  Losing My Insanity  03:59

2-9  Otherworld  09:17

2-10  Electra (Studio)  06:24

2-11  Magica Story (Studio)  18:26



CD, Cassette, Vinyl, File


Monsters Of Rock, Western Thunder Records, Not On Label, Moon Records , BMG, EastWest , CD-Maximum, MIROP International Business Records, Spitfire Records, Documents, ST2 Records, Night Of The Vinyl Dead Records, Niji Entertainment Group, Spitfire Records , BMG Rights Management (US) LLC, Niji Entertainment Group


Argentina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Germany, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Poland, Russian Federation, Ukraine, United States of America, Europe, UK & Europe, USA & Europe


2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2018, 2020


Rudy Sarzo,Jens Johansson,Ronald Padavona,Jimmy Bain,Rowan Robertson,Vinny Appice,Jeff Pilson,Vivian Campbell,Claude Schnell,Scott Warren,Teddy Cook,Simon Wright (4),Jerry Best,Craig Goldy,Doug Aldrich,Jake Williams (5),Tracy Grijalva

Related products

Killing The Dragon - Dio
Angry Machines - Dio
Master Of The Moon - Dio
Live In London: Hammersmith Apollo 1993 - Dio
Finding The Sacred Heart – Live In Philly 1986 - Dio
Annica - Dio
Holy Diver - Live At 35 - Dio
Stand Up and Shout - Dio


Josh Groban - Josh Groban
Start The Party - The Blackout
Tracks Of My Years - Bryan Adams
Bohemian Rhapsody: Choral Pop - Cantillation
Everything Now - Arcade Fire
High Hopes - Bruce Springsteen
Get Up - Bryan Adams
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay