CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
One Dead Man Ago - Jimmie Skinner

One Dead Man Ago

Jimmie Skinner  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: country, Folk, World, & Country, Hillbilly, Honky Tonk

Barcode: 4000127168276


23.47€ Shipping: 3-6 days



American country singer, musician and songwriter, born April 29, 1909 on a farm near Berea, Kentucky and died October 28, 1979 in Hendersonville, Tennessee.. Moved to Hamilton, Ohio in 1926. The Hamilton-Cincinnati area was to be his home for most of the rest of his life. In the 1950s, no one was more popular in the Cincinnati area. In fact, in 1951 he was voted the fifth most popular artist nationally in Country Song Roundup, behind only Hank Snow, Hank Williams, Ernest Tubb, and Eddy Arnold. He was part owner of the record store in downtown Cincinnati that bore his name, and where he broadcast live daily for WNOP in Newport, Kentucky. He recorded on three major record labels: Capitol, Decca, and Mercury. He recorded three Billboard top-10 records: “I Found My Girl In the U.S.A.,” “What Makes a Man Wander,” and “Dark Hollow,” in addition to seven other top-30 records. Other labels for which he recorded included Red Barn, Radio Artist, Starday, Rich’R’Tone, Vetco, Country Corner, Stop, Sims, Brite-Star, Prize, Wel-Dun, Jewel, and Blue Grass Special. Some of the artists he helped in the music business included Rusty York, Connie Hall, the Davis Sisters, Joe “Cannonball” Lewis, and Roy Moss. Mainly a country blues singer, in later years he recorded quite a bit of bluegrass and wrote the enduring bluegrass standard “Doin’ My Time,” as well as “Don’t Give Your Heart To a Rambler,” “You Don’t Know My Mind,” “A Born Ramblin’ Man” and many others. The IBMA honored him with a Distinguished Achievement Award in 2004.


1  The Rambler's Call   02:57

2  Jimmie Speaks (Hamilton, Ohio 1926)   01:08

3  Ramblin' Boy Blues   02:14

4  Lula Lee   02:43

5  Muddy Water Blues   02:29

6  There's Nothin' About You Special   02:58

7  Running Out Of Time   02:36

8  It's All The Same To Me   02:27

9  Kentucky And You   02:16

10  Women Beware (Of The Ramblin' Kind)   01:59

11  I Ain't Got Time   02:07

12  By Degrees   02:12

13  Doin' My Time  02:40

14  Don't Give My Heart To A Rambler   02:20

15  My Broken Heart's Startin' To Show   02:31

16  Baby I Could Change My Way   02:12

17  Too Hot To Handle   02:25

18  (My Heart's) On A Budget   02:12

19  Dime A Dozen (That's What You Are)   02:16

20  How Low Can You Feel   02:39

21  I Need A Little Lovin'   02:02

22  Another Saturday Night   02:28

23  Just Ramblin' On   02:37

24  Where My Sweet Baby Goes   02:00

25  I Found My Girl In The U.S.A.  02:53

26  Hafta Do Somethin' Bout That  02:31

27  You Don't Know My Mind  02:41

28  John Welsey Hardin  02:32

29  Riverboat Gambler  02:42

30  I'm a Lot More Lonesome Now  02:08

31  100 Proof Heartaches  02:27

32  I Know You're Married (But I Love You Still)  02:00

33  One Dead Man Ago  01:52

34  Rambler's Call  02:05







Related products

You're In My Heart - Rod Stewart
The Rolling Stones On Air - The Rolling Stones
Torches - Foster The People
Live: Her Greatest Performances - Whitney Houston
Versailles - Alexandre Tharaud
The Manticore And Other Horrors - Cradle Of Filth
Turbo - Judas Priest
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay