CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
The Complete John Peel Sessions - The White Stripes

The Complete John Peel Sessions

The White Stripes  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: rock

Barcode: 0813547026514

. sessions: bbc

24.98€ Shipping: 3-6 days



. sessions: bbc


Bluesy garage rock band from Detroit, Michigan (USA).

The band comprising the bass-free duo of Jack White (2) [vocals, guitar, keyboards] and Meg White [drums, percussion]. The Whites, once married and divorced in March 2000, formed their lo-fi garage band in 1997. They officially ceased to perform in Feb 2011.

Previously the guitarist in garage band The Go, Jack White's musical output in this fused twosome was heavily laced with folk blues, country, 60s Britpop and Broadway show tunes. Dressed in minimalist red and white outfits, the Stripes' striking stage presence was allied to their undeniable grasp of the rudiments of timeless rock music. Their debut was the 1997 single "Let's Shake Hands", followed by "Lafayette Blues" [Italy Records]. They then moved to the label Sympathy For The Record Industry and began to receive acclaim for their act and eponymous 1st album, mixing astute cover versions (Robert Johnson's "Stop Breaking Down Blues" and Josh White's "St. James Infirmary") with some devastating originals.

By the time of the following year's De Stijl [The Style], the media buzz surrounding the White Stripes had reached new heights. Of particular note was the duo's reception in the UK, where their music was lauded in national media, including The Daily Telegraph, The Sun and even Radio 4's Today programme - not normally known for its liberal music policy. The influential John Peel was quoted as comparing their importance to that of Jimi Hendrix and the Sex Pistols - although both those acts were originators, whereas the Whites clearly powerful interpreters. They certainly dispelled any question of hype, upon release of a third album, "White Blood Cells", followed by "Elephant" in 2003. The latter recorded at London's tiny Toe Rag Studios, using pre-60s analogue equipment and only eight tracks. Produced by Jack White, the highly-successful album offered a contrast to the digital conformity of music emerging in the new millennium, reaching the top-ten in the US & going platinum in the UK.


1  Let's Shake Hands 

2  When I Hear My Name 

3  Jolene 

4  Death Letter 

5  Cannon 

6  Astro / Jack The Ripper 

7  Hotel Yorba 

8  I'm Finding It Hard To Be A Gentleman 

9  Screwdriver 

10  We're Going To Be Friends 

11  You're Pretty Good Looking 

12  Boll Weevil 

13  Hello Operator 

14  Baby Blue 

15  Lord Send Me An Angel 

16  Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground 

17  I Think I Smell A Rat 

18  Let's Build A Home / Going Back To Memphis 

19  Little Room 

20  The Union Forever 

21  The Same Boy You've Always Known 

22  Look Me Over Closely 

23  Looking At You 

24  St. James Infirmary Blues 

25  Apple Blossom 

26  Do 

27  Rated X 

28  Jumble Jumble 

29  Little People 



CD, Vinyl, File


Third Man Records, Fig Boy Records


United States of America, USA & Europe


2002, 2016, 2017, 2018


Jack White (2),Meg White

Related products

Under Great White Northern Lights - The White Stripes
De Stijl - The White Stripes
Elephant - The White Stripes
Under Great White Northern Lights - The White Stripes
Get Behind Me Satan - The White Stripes


M' Bem Di Fora - Lura
Konkoma - Konkoma
Latin American Songbook - Edward Simon
Hommage A Franco Luambo (On Entre KO - On Sort OK) - Ray Lema
Zulu (Original Motion Picture Sound Track & Themes) - John Barry
Batida - Batida
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay