CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Gréco - Juliette Gréco

Format: 1 CD

Genre: pop, Chanson

Barcode: 0731454284424




French singer and actress (born February 7th, 1927, Montpellier, France; died September 23rd, 2020, Ramatuelle, France)
Juliette Gréco was born to a Corsican father and a mother active in the Résistance, in the Hérault département of southern France. She was raised by her maternal grandparents. Gréco also became involved in the Résistance, and was caught but not deported because of her young age. She moved to Saint-Germain-des-Prés in Paris in 1946 after her mother left the country for Indochina with the French Navy. Gréco came to be one of the stars of the bohemian “in” crowd of post-war France. She embodied the disenchantment and poverty of the French intellectuals following World War II. Gréco dressed all in black and let her long, black hair hang free. A famous description of Gréco is that her voice “encompasses millions of poems”. She was an inspiration to many of the writers and artists working in Saint-Germain-des-Prés, such as Jean-Paul Sartre and Boris Vian. Some of these artists would write songs for her to sing. Gréco famously spent the post liberation years frequenting the Saint Germain cafes, immersing herself in political and philosophical Bohemian culture. As a regular figure at legendary music and poetry venues like Le Tabou on Rue Dauphine, Greco rubbed shoulders with Miles Davis and Jean Cocteau, even landing a role in Cocteau’s film ‘Orphee’ in 1949. In the same year, she embarked on a new singing career with a number of top French writers penning lyrics – Raymond Queneau’s ‘Si tu t’imagines’ was one of her earliest hits. A protege and companion of studio head Darryl F. Zanuck in the 1950s, she fell in love with and almost married musician Miles Davis when he visited Paris in 1949. Between 1953 and 1956 she was married to actor Philippe Lemaire with whom she had a daughter, Laurence Lemaire. Later married to French actor Michel Piccoli (1966–1977) then to French pianist Gérard Jouannest since 1988.


1  Si Tu T'imagines  02:42

2  À La Belle Étoile  03:39

3  C'est À S'Aimer Que Les Temps Passe  03:02

4  Je Hais Les Dimanches  03:23

5  Dieu Est Nègre  03:50

6  La Valse Des Si  02:33

7  Chandernagor  02:35

8  Coin De Rue  03:21

9  Il N'y A Plus D'après  03:12

10  C'etait Bien Le P'tit Bal Perdu  04:00

11  Jolie Môme  02:40

12  Le Gros Lulu  04:57

13  La Cuisine  01:52

14  Accordéon  02:22

15  Sur Le Verbe Aimer  02:34

16  Belphégor  03:22

17  Marions-les  02:25

18  Un Petit Poisson, Un Petit Oiseau  01:43

19  J'ai Le Cœur Aussi Grand  01:48

20  Dieu Que Ça Lui Ressemble  03:23

21  Je T'attends À Charonne  03:20

22  Deshabillez-moi  03:36

23  La Femme  02:50







Related products

Embrasse - Moi - Juliette Gréco
L'éternel Féminin - Juliette Gréco
Jolie Mome : La Muse De Saint Germain Des Pres - Juliette Gréco
Si Tu T'Imagines - Juliette Gréco
Grande Dame - Juliette Gréco
Les Feuilles Mortes - Juliette Gréco

Selection JAZZ

Giant Of Jazz - John Coltrane
At Newport [50th Anniversary] - Count Basie
Out To Lunch! - Eric Dolphy
Speak No Evil - Wayne Shorter
The Real McCoy - McCoy Tyner
Empyrean Isles - Herbie Hancock
Getz / Gilberto #2 - Stan Getz
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay