CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Plays The George Gershwin Song Book / Plays George Gershwin - Oscar Peterson

Plays The George Gershwin Song Book / Plays George Gershwin

Oscar Peterson  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: jazz

Barcode: 0731452969828

. songbooks

8.47€ Shipping: Today



. songbooks


Canadian jazz pianist, composer, and band leader.
Born: 15 August 1925 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
Died: 23 December 2007 in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada.

He went through a classical piano education before turning to jazz, playing mostly in Canadian night clubs in Toronto and Montreal.

Only after repeated urgings by American colleagues he was persuaded to give a JATP performance at New York's Carnegie Hall in 1949. It was a smashing success. He then worked together with Ray Brown, at first as a duo, before founding in 1952 his first trio which included in succession, the guitarists Irving Ashby, Barney Kessel and Herb Ellis. At the end of the 1950s the guitar was replaced by drums.

Peterson went on many European tours. He has made recordings with just about everybody who's anybody in jazz.

His keys touch corresponds to almost explosive ornamentation in phrasing. Despite all the dynamics, a boundless desire for improvisation, a sublime artistic technique, however, the structure of his play (i.e. the over-all conception of harmonic means, phrasing, rhythms, etc.) remains translucent and tight.


1  It Ain't Necessarily So  02:45

2  The Man I Love  03:05

3  Love Walked In  02:45

4  I Was Doing All Right  02:47

5  A Foggy Day  02:51

6  Oh, Lady, Be Good!  02:58

7  Love IS Here To Stay  02:55

8  The All Laughed  02:28

9  Let's Call The Whole Thing Off  02:16

10  Summertime  02:54

11  Nice Work If You Can Get It  02:04

12  Shall We Dance?  02:15

13  The Man I Love  03:30

14  Fascinating Rhythm  02:56

15  It Ain't Necessarily So  03:13

16  Somebody Loves Me  03:22

17  Strike Up The Band  03:14

18  I've Got A Crush On You  02:52

19  I Was Doing All Right  02:41

20  'S Wonderful  02:36

21  Oh, Lady, Be Good!  03:49

22  I Got Rhythm  03:16

23  A Foggy Day  03:38

24  Love Walked In  03:06





Essential Jazz Classics, Verve Records


United States of America, Europe


1996, 2015


Related products


2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay