CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Torn Arteries - Carcass

Torn Arteries


Format: 1 CD

Genre: rock, Death Metal

Barcode: 0727361536800


13.83€ Shipping: Today



A seminal death metal band from Liverpool, UK, founded in 1985.

Starting out as a three-piece, Carcass were one of Earache Records' grindcore flagship and had a huge impact on the birth of so-called goregrind style. The group debuted with the extremely lo-fi underground classic "Reek of Putrefaction", which the late BBC Radio 1 DJ John Peel declared as his favourite album of 1988. With 1989's "Symphonies Of Sickness" the band developed the goregrind style further with the addition of vastly improved production values. The album tour also saw the addition of a second guitarist Mike Amott. 1991's "Necroticism" was the band's first studio work as a four piece and the album, albeit incorporating highly complex guitar riffing and structures, showcased somewhat more accessible and thrashier guitar work and overall less emphasis on full-on grindcore. 1993's "Heartwork", while still being brutal and complex at times, saw the band abandon nearly all of their grindcore parts and showcased a more streamlined and catchier version of Carcass with more song oriented approach and overall more traditional heavy metal vibe with strong guitar harmonies and melodic lead guitar work. Following the success of "Heartwork" the band singed to Columbia Records, but the major label collaboration didn't turn out to be too fruitful as the band grew frustrated with the music business and proceeded to split up during the recording of their fifth album "Swansong".

Carcass reformed for live shows in 2007 with Mike Amott back in as second guitarist and Daniel Erlandsson filling in as a session drummer. Original drummer Ken Owen had suffered a brain haemorrhage in 1999, which left him disabled to perform the songs in a live setting. The "reunion" touring cycle ended when Amott and Erlandsson left the band in 2012 to focus on their main band Arch Enemy.

In February 2013 the band announced that after 18 years, a new album was at works. Daniel Wilding was introduced as the new drummer and later also Ben Ash joined the group as a live guitarist.

Ash exited the band in late 2017 and was replaced by Tom Draper.

Current line up:
Bill Steer - Guitar (1985-1996, 2007- )
Jeff Walker - Bass & Vocals (1986-1996, 2007- )
Daniel Wilding - Drums (2012 - )
Guitar - Tom Draper (2018 - )


1  Torn Arteries  04:00

2  Dance Of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstance March No. 1 In B)  04:29

3  Eleanor Rigor Mortis  04:13

4  Under The Scalpel Blade  03:55

5  The Devil Rides Out  05:22

6  Flesh Ripping Sonic Torment Limited  09:43

7  Kelly's Meat Emporium  03:24

8  In God We Trust  03:57

9  Wake Up And Smell The Carcass / Caveat Emptor  04:37

10  The Scythe's Remorseless Swing  05:21



Vinyl, CD


Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast Records


Germany, United States of America, Europe, USA & Europe




Jeff Walker,Michael Amott,Bill Steer,Ken Owen,Carlo Regadas,Sanjiv,Tom Draper (2),Daniel Wilding,Ben Ash (4)

Related products

Symphonies Of Sickness - Carcass
Heartwork - Carcass
Necroticism - Descanting The Insalubrious - Carcass
Surgical Steel (Complete Edition) - Carcass
The Best Of Carcass - Carcass
Despicable - Carcass
Reek Of Putrefaction - Carcass
Necroticism - Descanting The Insalubrious - Carcass

Funko Pop! Keychain

2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay