CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism - Napalm Death

Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism

Napalm Death  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: rock, Grindcore

Barcode: 0194397638929

.. jaws of defeatism

17.12€ Shipping:



.. jaws of defeatism


Formed in Birmingham, UK in 1982, by Nik Bullen. Napalm Death were originally one of the bands that defined the UK hardcore thrash/punk sound of the mid-late 1980s, along with bands such as Extreme Noise Terror, Doom and Sore Throat. The band has gone through countless line-ups and many former members have gone on to become significant figures in a variety of musical scenes.

Although their debut album "Scum" featured members Justin Broadrick (who was also a member of Fall of Because, the band that later became Godflesh, at the time) and Nik Bullen (later part of Scorn), the first stable line up consisted of Lee Dorrian (vocals), Bill Steer (guitar), Mick Harris (drums) and Shane Embury (bass).

By late 1989, Lee Dorrian, whose vocals epitomised the early Napalm Death sound, had left to form another band (doom metal band Cathedral) and focus on his label Rise Above. Bill Steer also left to concentrate on his other band, Carcass. Dorrian was replaced by former death metal band Benediction's vocalist Barney Greenway, and an American guitarist, Jesse Pintado, was recruited from fellow Earache label-mates Terrorizer. A short time later Mitch Harris from Las Vegas' grindcore outfit Righteous Pigs joined as second guitarist.

Mick Harris left the band in 1991 and has since been involved in a plethora of solo and joint projects/collaborations as Scorn, Lull, Quoit etc. He was replaced by Danny Herrera, an old friend of Jesse's from Los Angeles. This line-up lasted until 2004, when Jesse Pintado left the band. Currently the band consists of Barney Greenway, Mitch Harris, Shane Embury and Danny Herrera.


1  Fuck The Factoid  02:30

2  Backlash Just Because  02:56

3  That Curse Of Being In Thrall  03:37

4  Contagion  04:05

5  Joie De Ne Pas Vivre  02:28

6  Invigorating Clutch  04:06

7  Zero Gravitas Chamber  04:03

8  Fluxing Of The Muscle  04:34

9  Amoral  03:05

10  Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism  02:56

11  Acting In Gouged Faith  03:37

12  A Bellyful Of Salt And Spleen  04:37



CD, Vinyl, Cassette


Century Media, Northeast Steel Industry, Rock Brigade Records, AreaDeath Productions, Napalm Death, The Other Records


Brazil, China, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Russian Federation, United States of America, Europe, USA & Canada


2020, 2021


Mick Harris,Justin K Broadrick,Lee Dorrian,Shane Embury,Danny Herrera,Jesse Pintado,Mitch Harris,Barney Greenway,Bill Steer,Jim Whitely,Phil Vane,Frank Healy,Nicholas Bullen,Miles Ratledge,Peter Shaw,Robb O,Day F

Related products

Order Of The Leech - Napalm Death
Punishment In Capitals - Napalm Death
Utilitarian - Napalm Death
Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism - Napalm Death
Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism - Napalm Death
Leaders Not Followers: Part 2 - Napalm Death

Selection K7

Father Of The Bride - Vampire Weekend
Eton Alive - Sleaford Mods
Vinyle - Vulcain
Jah Won't Pay The Bills - Sublime
The Bitter Truth - Evanescence
HIStory - Past, Present And Future - Book I - Michael Jackson
Gorgeous George - Edwyn Collins
Pulse - Pink Floyd
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay