CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Seeking New Gods - Gruff Rhys

Seeking New Gods

Gruff Rhys  

Format: 1 CD

Genre: pop, rock

Barcode: 0191402012729


11.98€ Shipping:



Singer, guitarist and main songwriter with Super Furry Animals.

Prior to Super Furry Animals's formation, Gruff played in a number of other bands, including the Creation Records-signed Emily (3), and Ffa Coffi Pawb.

Eclectic and eccentric, Gruff Rhys has released several solo albums. His debut album Yr Atal Genhedlaeth released in 2005 and recorded entirely in his native Welsh language, followed by Candylion released in 2007. Hotel Shampoo, released in 2011, was the winner of the inaugural Welsh Music Prize in 2011. He released American Interior in 2014. In 2016 he released Set Fire To The Stars, the original soundtrack to the film with the same name. Babelsberg was released in 2018 and Pang! in 2019. (Don't) Welcome The Plague As A Blessing / The Babelsberg Basement Files was a Record Store Day 2020 release which featured raw recordings, from 2016, of songs which would eventually be released as Babelsberg. 2021 saw the release of Seeking New Gods.

In 2008 Gruff collaborated with Boom Bip and released Stainless Style, a concept album with a string of guest musicians. The album was based on the rise and fall of John De Lorean, the founder of the De Lorean Motor Company. Their next collaboration, Praxis Makes Perfect, was released in 2013. This was also a concept album and based on the life of Italian publisher and leftwing activist Giangiacomo Feltrinelli.

In 2010 Gruff collaborated with Brazilian eccentric Tony da Gatorra to release The Terror Of Cosmic Loneliness. In addition to this Gruff has collaborated with a host of other musicians, most notably for vocals for the track 'Just War' on Dark Night Of The Soul and 'Superfast Jellyfish' from Plastic Beach.

In 2018 Gruff travelled to Johannesburg, South Africa with Africa Express and contributed to four tracks on EGOLI and a further track on Africa Express Presents Molo, both of which were released in 2019.


1  Mausoleum of My Former Self  04:53

2  Can’t Carry On  03:38

3  Loan Your Loneliness  05:22

4  Seeking New Gods  05:10

5  Hiking In Lightning  03:25

6  Holiest Of The Holy Men  04:42

7  The Keep  04:23

8  Everlasting Joy  05:10

9  Distant Snowy Peaks  05:35



Vinyl, CD


Rough Trade


United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Europe




Related products

American Interior - Gruff Rhys
Candylion - Gruff Rhys
Pang! - Gruff Rhys
(Don't) Welcome The Plague As A Blessing / The Babelsberg Basement Files - Gruff Rhys
Pang! - Gruff Rhys
Babelsberg - Gruff Rhys
Pang! - Gruff Rhys
Hotel Shampoo - Gruff Rhys

Funko Pop Figures

2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay