CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store CDGO.COM - Your Online Music Store
Encore! - Midori Goto

Format: 1 CD

Genre: classical, Modern, Romantic, Baroque

Barcode: 0074645256825




Midori Goto (b. 25 Oct 1971), who typically appears as Midori, is a distinguished Japanese-American violinist, music educator, and activist from Osaka. Since 2018, Midori teaches at Curtis Institute Of Music in Philadelphia. She's the older sister of violinist Ryu Goto. Midori plays the 1734 'Huberman' Guarnerius del Gesù violin with Dominique Peccatte's and Paul Martin Siefried's bows.

As a concert violinist, Midori made her debut in 1982, at 11-year-old, with The New York Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Zubin Mehta. She has since performed under batons of Paavo Järvi, Mariss Jansons, Daniele Gatti, Alan Gilbert (2), Susanna Mälkki, Kent Nagano, Robert Spano, James Conlon, and Omer Meir Wellber. Hungarian composer Peter Eötvös dedicated his Violin Concerto No. 2 to Midori (conducting at her Nov 2014 premiere with Orchestre Philharmonique De Radio France in Paris). As a soloist, she appeared with such prominent orchestras as The London Symphony Orchestra, Staatskapelle Dresden, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, The Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, L'Orchestre Symphonique De Montreal, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, or The Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2013, Midori's rendition of Hindemith's Violinkonzert with NDR Sinfonieorchester and maestro Christoph Eschenbach won the Best Classical Compendium Grammy Award.

Before joining Curtis Institute's faculty, Midori was a distinguished professor and 'Jascha Heifetz Chair' holder at the University Of Southern California's Thornton School of Music (2004–'18), preceded by teaching at Manhattan School Of Music. Midori is an honorary professor at Beijing's Central Conservatory of Music, guest professor at Soai University in Osaka and Shanghai Conservatory, and distinguished visiting artist at Peabody institute.


1  Praeludium & Allegro (In The Style Of Pugnani)  05:53

2  Habanera, Op. 21, No. 2  04:32

3  Cantabile  04:02

4  Orientale, Op. 50, No. 9 From Kaleidoscope  01:38

5  Oberek, No. 2  01:35

6  Salut D'amour, Op. 12  03:14

7  Miniature Viennese March  03:12

8  Op. 34, No. 10 - Moderato Non Troppo  02:06

9  Op. 34, No. 15 - Allegretto  00:59

10  Op. 34, No. 16 - Andantino  01:11

11  Op. 34, No. 24 - Allegretto  01:13

12  Chanson De Matin, Op. 15, No. 2  02:45

13  Introduction Et Tarentelle, Op. 43  04:54

14  Slavonic Dance In E Minor, Op. 46, No. 2 In E Minor  04:56

15  March From The Love For Three Oranges  01:39

16  Mélodie, Op. 42, No. 3 From Souvenir D'un Lieu Cher  03:52

17  I. La Fontaine D'Aréthuse From Mythes, Op. 30  05:56

18  Syncopation  02:11

19  Mélodie ("Dance Of The Blessed Spirits”) From Orfeo Ed Euridice  03:28

20  Berceuse, Op. 16  03:07

21  Etude In Thirds, Op. 8, No. 10  02:00

28  Rêve D'Enfant, Op. 14  04:36



CD, Cassette, Minidisc


Sony Classical


Austria, Germany, Japan, United States of America


1992, 1998, 2012


Related products

Violin Sonatas - Midori Goto

Slowdive - Slowdive
Original Album Classics - Slowdive
Souvlaki - Slowdive
Pygmalion - Slowdive
Souvlaki - Slowdive
Just For A Day - Slowdive
Pygmalion - Slowdive
2020 CDGO, all rights reserved. Developed by Impactwave.
Paypal Visa Maestro Multibanco MBWay